Walnut Ink

We have a couple of walnut trees near our house and I discovered that ink can be made from the husks. I dabble in a little arty creativity so I scanned the internet and found several “recipes” for walnut husk ink.

Like this

https://freeplaycraft.wordpress.com/2010/11/04/how-to-make-black-walnut-ink-a-photo-tutorial/

Then I dehusked the walnuts and saved the nuts to eat.

I boiled the husks for half an hour. There were some blogs that said several hours but I am impatient and I expect the longer you boil it, the darker your ink.

Sieved off the remains, add some white vinegar and bottle it.

Then don’t leave it on a sunny windowsill so it can grow mould but use it to paint or write in a beautiful rich brown and natural colour!

Published by Bean

I love to cook from scratch, make things for myself and educate my youngest at home, all on a tight budget.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.